Review: Artisan Roast

Artisan Roast on Broughton Street has become one of my go to places for a pre-choir read and relax. At first it’s main appeal was that it was open till 7.30pm, rare to find an independant cafe that caters to an evening crowd. Second, it’s halfway down the road to choir. But most importantly, the hot chocolate is a complete winner.

The drink was smooth AF, the barista has obviously spent quite a bit of time mixing, putting it together and making sure all the chocolate was homogeous with the milk. The cafe was unusally quite when I arrived so he had time to concentrate on my drink and put a bit extra effort making it delightfully smooth.

I’d rank on the bitter end of the scale, not much extra sweetness or sugar added to it. Perfect, and just the way I like it with a strong chocolate taste. They had a couple of flavours but I went for the classic made with milk and plain chocolate shavings.

The little bit of foam on the top was dreamy and a lovely rich colour.  It’s got to be one of my top 5 hot chocolates in Edinburgh.

The cafe itself is electric, mish mash of chairs and benches and super relaxed. £2.50 for a large bowl mug of chocolate, served with a smile, definitely worth it. I gotta get myself back before I leave Edinburgh for good.

Leave a Reply

