Review: City Bakery, NYC

Oh SWEET MOTHER. This hot chocolate is heaven on earth. This is what all hot chocolates should aspire to be. I have found my one true love and it comes in a little blue takeaway cup.

My first City Bakery hot chocolate was on an unusually sunny February New York day when we decided to picnic in the park. I’d read about City Bakery so we wandered over to pick up some goodies. Most review sites talk about the homemade giant marshmallow (really cool, but not what hot chocolate is about for me) but not many really discussed the thick, rich, bitter, intense chocolate.

The staff pump the hot chocolate out of big vat – seemingly having to put all their weight on to get it out, it’s so thick. It’s obviously made offsite so I don’t know their hot chocolate secrets but whatever they are doing, they are doing it beautifully.

City Bakery are hot chocolate heroes. They make the hot chocolate I’ve been searching for all my life. If you’re in New York, make sure you go and have a sample. It’ll change your life.

Leave a Reply

